Second Fairing of the Hull

I’m confident it’ll take about 3 fairings to bring things flush.  This is fairing #2.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’re 2 pronounced edges to the glass taping.  One more prominent than the other.  Both of these edges need to be removed.  This is easily accomplished by using a card scraper.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All edges have been scraped and all glass tape has been hand sanded.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Using a squeegee, I applied my fairing compound to all the taped areas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Summary:

Things need to get uglier before they can get prettier.  Tomorrow I’ll sand all these edges and apply another filler coat.  I think 2-3 coat should get me where I want to be.  I’m taking my time here, I want a nice fair hull before I lay down the xynole.

2 thoughts on “Second Fairing of the Hull

  1. Well done and thank you for maintaining such a thorough progress blog, it really helps those of us who are thinking of diving in but not sure how big a job it is. Your blog helps a lot to gauge that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

