Xynole Arrives

It came today in a long brown box.  I wasted no time.  The box flew open with the assistance of my Victorinox pocket knife and the rest is history.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Steps I took:

  1. I first made sure all surfaces were fair and properly sanding for good adhesion.
  2. I spread out the Xynole and smoothed out any wrinkles.
  3. I applied the 2″ blue tape around the hull.
  4. I cut the Xynole with household scissors (don’t tell Jennifer).
  5. I taped over the raw edge of the Xynole with another layer of the 2″ blue tape.
  6. I used a squeegee to spread out the epoxy (this worked great for the flat area).
  7. I used a foam roller to apply epoxy to the edges and chine panel.
  8. I’ll now wait a few hours and then cut off the excess by running a razor blade along the top edge of the inner tape.

 

Summary:

Make sure you have a lot of epoxy on hand.  I am amazed at how much epoxy this stuff soaks up.  I’ll be applying the second coat in about 6 hours.

 

2 thoughts on “Xynole Arrives

  1. Seymour,

    The plans do call out quite clearly how to apply the Xynole. It really isn’t any different that applying fiberglass, other than it drinks a lot more epoxy. Kilburn’s plans are very detailed. I think it would be hard to find a more comprehensive set of plans on boatbuilding. He’s done a very thorough job of helping you through the steps. I’ll keep the blog and photos going as well. Thanks for your comment.

    -Brent

    Like

Leave a comment